

Central Newfoundland Waste Management

P. O. Box 254, Norris Arm, NL, A0G 3M0

Phone: 709 653 2900 Fax: 709 653 2920

Web: www.cnwmc.com E-mail: Info@cnwmc.com

BOARD MEETING September 19, 2024 – Regional Site

Attendance

Robert Elliott Chair

Marcus Hiscock Buchan's Junction – Ward 1 Woodrow Gidge NWI/Twillingate – Ward 3

Alexander Crawford Fogo Island – Ward 4 – Conference Call

Keith Howell Gander Bay – Ward 5 Triffie Parsons Indian Bay – Ward 6

Glenn Arnold Terra Nova – Ward 7 – Vice Chair

Percy Farwell Town of Gander - Ward 8 – Secretary – Conference Call

Robert Hiscock Town of Grand Falls-Windsor – Ward 9 Alethea Thompson Norris Arm/Norris Arm North – Ward 11

Gary Ryan MMSB

Pam Preston Chief Administrative Officer – CNWM

Karen White Attwood Manager of Finance/Administration – CNWM

Mark Attwood Manager of Operations – CNWM

Apologies

Keith Humber Point Leamington – Ward 2

James Sceviour Bishops Falls/Botwood/Lewisporte – Ward 10

Vacant Direct Haul – Ward 12

Wayne Lynch Digital Government and Service NL

Christa Curnew Dept of Municipal Affairs and Environment

1. MOTION: Moved by T. Parsons to adopt the minutes of August 22, 2024. Second by M. Hiscock. M.C.

2. Business Arising

CNWM will have a booth set up at the Seniors event taking place in Grand Falls- Windsor on September 24th, 2024 to help promote the Blue Bag Recycling Program.

CRSB Canada Revenue Agency Business Account

MOTION: Moved by R. Hiscock to remove the former CAO – Edward Evans from the CRSB CRA Business account and add the new CAO - Pamela Preston and Manager of Finance and Administration – Karen White Attwood to the CRSB Business Account as directors. Second by G. Arnold.

M.C.

3. Financial Report

MOTION: Moved by M. Hiscock to approve payment of invoices from- August 7, 2024 – September 4, 2024 in the amount of \$197,798.71. Second by T. Parsons.

M.C.

Review of Commercial Haulers accounts – Good Standing

Staff are working with several Towns and LSDs to bring their account in good standing.

4. Other Business

Quote from Richard Power on the 2024 Audit

Moved by M. Hiscock to award the 2024 Auditing Services to Richard Power in the amount of \$17,500.00 plus tax. Second by R. Hiscock.

M.C.

Update on WRWM Tip Fee

- MNP and CRSB are currently engaged I the special Audit.
- CRSB CAO met with WRWM CAO Jason King and Chair Bernd Staebe, with hopes of finding a path to move forward and work together on future projects.

New Maintenance Garage and Wash Bay

- A Construction schedule was given to CNWM by the Contractor on schedule.
- Completion will be approximately the end of January 2023

CAO will attend a s session September 20th, 2024 with Immigration Canada on recruitment for Heavy Equipment Mechanic and other skilled trade workers.

Update –Collection Trucks

- Delivery on two trucks have been delayed until mid-November 2024
- Next meeting the Board will look at going to tender for another truck, as delivery is now approximately 18 months.

Review the Options for improvements in the Blue Bag Program

- CRSB will continue to look for new ways to educate the public
- A new budget item to help with education, Marketing and compliance of the Blue Bag program.

Fleet Management Review

- A letter has been sent to the Minister requesting that the province consider paying 100% for the cost of Cell #4 and then allow CRSB to use the Capital reserve for cell construction to help purchase the necessary equipment that CRSB is in urgent need of.

Update on Cell #4

- CRSB will begin discussions with the province on the construction of the 4th Landfill cell. We need to go to tender in the Fall of 2024 for construction in the spring of 2025.

Town of Lewisporte – Curb Side Collection

- Discussions are ongoing with the Town of Lewisporte to put a plan in place for CRSB to begin curbside collections. Next meeting is set for September 20^{th} , 2024

2025 Budget Committee

- Chair, Robert Elliott, Vice Chair, Glenn Arnold, Director, Triffie Parsons, Treasurer, Alexander Crawford and Percy Farwell.
- 7. Next meeting –October 17, 2024 or call of the Chair
- 8. Adjournment

MOTION: Moved by R. Hiscock to adjourn the meeting at 2:00 p.m. Second by A Thompson.

M.C.