

Central Newfoundland Waste Management

P. O. Box 254, Norris Arm, NL, A0G 3M0

Phone: 709 653 2900 Fax: 709 653 2920

Web: www.cnwmc.com E-mail: Info@cnwmc.com

BOARD MEETING –Norris Arm 1:00 p.m. November 9, 2017

Attendance

Terry Best Badger/Buchans/Buchans Junction/Millertown – Ward 1

Robert Elliott Point Leamington – Ward 2
Kevin Butt NWI/Twillingate – Ward 3
Wayne Collins Fogo Island – Ward 4
Keith Howell Gander Bay – Ward 5
Lloyd Pickett Indian Bay – Ward 6
Glenn Arnold Terra Nova – Ward 7
Percy Farwell Town of Gander - Ward 8

Darrin Finn Town of Grand Falls-Windsor – Ward 9
Betty Clarke Bishops Falls/Botwood/Lewisporte – Ward 10
Ross Rowsell Norris Arm/Norris Arm North – Ward 11

Derrick Luff Direct Haul – Ward 12

Ed Evans Chief Administrative Officer - CNWM

Karen White Attwood Manager of Finance/Administration – CNWM

Mark Attwood Manager of Operations – CNWM

Apologies

Brad Hefford Service NL Wayne Lynch Service NL

Jerry Collins Department of Municipal Affairs and Environment

1. Welcome and Introductions

MOTION: Moved by G. Arnold to appoint Robert Elliott as interim Chairperson, until a Chairperson is appointed to the Board. Second by T. Best. M.C.

2. Review of previous minutes – September 20, 2017

MOTION: Moved by D. Luff to adopt the minutes of September 20, 2017. Seconded by G. Arnold.

M/C

3. Business Arising

Maintenance Garage Extension – to be discussed by the Technical committee and recommendation brought to the Board at a future date

- 4. Technical Committee Representatives from the Board, Government and engineers from the Towns of Grand Falls Windsor will continue to sit at the Technical committee
- 5. Financial Report

MOTION: Moved by K. Howell to pay the operational invoices September 6, 2017 – October 30, 2017 totaling \$531,864.26. Seconded by P. Farwell.

M/C

Financial Review – October 31, 2017

- Tonnage Report
- Route Cost Breakdown Collection
- Site Cost Breakdown Disposal
- Budget vs Actual Combined Report

Review of proposed 2018 budget

MOTION: Moved by R. Rowsell to approve the 2018 proposed budget as presented. Second by B. Clarke.

8 In favor – T. Best; R. Elliott; D. Luff; K. Butt; K. Howell; B. Clarke; G. Arnold; L. Pickett – 4 Opposed – R. Rowsell; D. Finn; W. Collins; P. Farwell M.C.

6. Other Business/Correspondence

Special Audit

- completed and sent to Minister E. Joyce.
- presented to the Board for review
- to be sent to MHA's/ Municipalities and LSD's and uploaded to the new website

Legal Statement of Claim

- Presented and discussed

Elections

- Signing Officers

MOTION: Moved by K. Butt and second by P. Farwell to nominate Glenn Arnold; moved by L. Pickett and second by W. Collins to nominate Betty Clarke; moved by T. Best and second by K. Butt to nominate Ross Rowsell and Chief Administrative Officer as signing officers for the Central Regional Service Board, with any two (2) of the four (4) to sign. All in Favor.

M.C.

Orientation Day – Full day 10 a.m. to 4 p.m.

- CAO will propose a couple of dates to carry out the orientation.
- 7. Next Meeting December 7, 2017
- 8. Adjournment

MOTION: W. Collins to adjourn the meeting. Second by P. Farwell. All in favor. $\underline{\text{M.C.}}$